Foundation, Foundation, Foundation!

It took me awhile to find what foundation works for me. I’m sure a lot of you guys have had the same problem too. I have a weird complexion…well no, let’s put it this way the makeup industry doesn’t always cater to the shades between ivory and deep brown. I’m usually stuck staring at a plethora of sandy biege, warm beige, beige beige, sun kissed, tan, taupe, etc, etc, etc! Not one shade usually fits and so I use a few types of foundation.

There are 5 basic types of foundations:

  1. Liquid-The most popular. It can be thick to thin in consistency. The consistency also reflects the amount of coverage. Thinner foundations are easier to build up
  2. Tinted Moisturizer-I personally like using this on an everyday basis. My skin is dry so i need the extra moisture and the added color contributes a decent amount of coverage. You can use this as a base for thicker foundation (essentially using it as a normal moisturizer) or leave as is.
  3. Cream-These usually come in sticks and are easily applicable. I’ve never used a cream stick foundation so I can’t really say if I like them or not for my skin.
  4. Mineral foundation-This is usually the most expensive option which is weird seeing as how it is basically finely grounded powder. I also haven’t tried mineral foundation but I would definitely like to give it a shot.
  5. Powder- This is also pretty common. Great for people with oily skin, it adds a nice matte finish and sets this in place like liquid foundation or tinted moisturizers.

Now for me it takes a a bit to find the right color, as I’ve mentioned before. I start in the ‘medium’ range and usually have to work my way up one or two shades. The foundations I use now are:

Hard Candy’s Just Face it Featherweight Formula ($7, Medium)

e.l.f Tinted Moisturizer with SPF 20 ($3, Beige)

Covergirl Clean Sensitive Skin Pressed Powder ($6, Warm Beige)

Do you see what I mean about all the weird beige medium tan colors?! It’s frustrating. So far these three work for me. I use the Hard Candy Liquid foundation for when I’m going out or need it to last a long time. I used the e.l.f Tinted Moisturizer on an everyday basis to add moisture back into my skin as well as coverage. Whether I use the liquid foundation or tinted moisturizer I always add the Covergirl face powder all over. Not only does it set the liquids but it also help mix the two colors together to get a nice blend. The foundation and moisturizer don’t always blend into my skin perfectly so adding the colored powder on top helps add to that.

You might need to mix and match different foundations to get your perfect shade. Don’t give up though, its normal to not have the right shade right in the aisle. For super fair skinned people it’s hard to find a light enough shade, for people with darker skin that have to sometimes use makeup specifically created for dark skin tones. And for people like me…well we’re smack dab in the middle and need to be some mixologists.

Once you find you right color now you have to decide what type of foundation is for you. I like lightweight formulas because I don’t need that much coverage and I don’t like that cakey feeling on my face. But if you have oily skin you might want to stick to powders and matte formulas. You might need a slightly thicker foundation to cover up things such as acne scars.

You also can decide where you want to apply your foundation. All over will of course give you full coverage, but you can also spot treat for acne or other problem areas. You can also apply them to specifically red areas. My read areas are my nose and the apple of my cheeks. I add a few swipes to both my cheeks, across my forehead and a dab on my chin. You can start off with thin layers and build up from there. You can always add more but it’s harder to take away.

Don’t forget to blend into your neck! You don’t want to look like an awkward floating head. Blending is key so blend, blend, blend!

One thought on “Foundation, Foundation, Foundation!

Leave a Reply

