DIY Milk Bath

Nothing is more luxurious than…MILK! Believe or not milk has great soothing properties and creates one hell of a spa like milk bath. The best part is you don’t have to go to a spa to be treated like Cleopatra. You can make your very own milk bath right at home for under $10!

(I realized that I used the rest of my milk bath yesterday so I don’t have any original pictures to show you. Instead I borrowed this picture from this blog which has amazing posts and useful tips, It even inspired me to make my own milk bath!)

So here’s what you need:

  • 1.5-2 cups of dry powdered milk (I found my powdered milk at Wal-Mart for around $3. I believe it was in the baking aisle. You might even be able to find it in the baby aisle as long as you don’t get powdered formula. Try and get full fat powdered milk though I got low fat skin milk and the bath still felt amazing)
  • 1/2 cup of cornstarch ($1)
  • 1/2 cup of baking soda ($1-1.50)
  • Essential oil ($3-4)

The dry milk comes in packets, about 3 to a box. I packet usually yields the 1.5-2 cups that you need. In a mixing bowl add the powdered milk, cornstarch and baking soda.

Here comes the fun part: choosing the scent you want for your bath. Of course you can use the milk bath plain but why stop there?! You can smell like awesomeness, be relaxed and have smooth skin.

I decided to make a lavender scented milk bath. Lavender is my favorite scent in the whole world. Not only does it help with relaxing and being calm but it can also bring in happiness. I used lavender essential oil that I got from Micheal’s in the soap crafting section. Then I added dried Lavender buds. You can also get these in the soap making section at Micheals, get lavender powder or the buds on Etsy as well.

Pour into a glass jar and you’re done! Using it is simple of course, make your bath and sprinkle the milk bath in. I usually use the whole thing since I have dry skin and want it to feel amazing. The good thing is with the box of powdered milk you can make about 3 separate baths in different scents. Or if you buy the larger box of powdered milk ($7, Great Value Brand at Wal-Mart for a 25 oz box) you can make a bit more.

I also made an orange scented one using orange essential oil.

I’m going to make a follow up post about my amazing bursting with lavender bath! Happy bathing!

5 thoughts on “DIY Milk Bath

Leave a Reply

