Eyeliners Part 2: The Pencils

Check out part one here!

Last time I talked about liquid liners, in the form of pens and markers. These are great for getting thick, bold, black strokes but we can’t forget about the classic-the eyeliner pencil. Eyeliner has pretty much been around since 10000 BC, back when Cleopatra and her homies used makeup as a form of protection from the sun. We’ve come a long way since then and have learned that eyeliner helps decorate our gorgeous eyes and make them stand out. Eyeliner is a great way to make a statement and compliment any look.

I have a few pencils in my arsenal and they each work differently.

20150124_194945

Here’s the lineup:

1. Avon Ultra Luxury Eyeliner (on sale for $1.89!), Black

2. Avon Glimmersticks Diamond Eyeliner ($7), Black Ice

3. NYC Eyeliner Duet ($1.75, sold in stores only),888 Unforgetable

4.Wet N Wild ColorIcon Eyeliner (.99), 656A White

5. E.l.f Waterproof Eyeliner Crayon (on sale for $2.40), I’m pretty sure it’s just Black

20150124_195150 copy

The Avon Ultra Luxury Liner is vying for the top spot as my fave. This pencil is creamy and glides on like butter. In fact this is the pencil that I do that old eyeliner trick with, you know the one where you heat it up with a lighter for 2 seconds then apply it. It leaves a nice bold strip and it pretty black. I absolutely love it.

The Glimmersticks Diamond Eyeliner is good for when you want a little pop of glitter. I used these ALOT when I was younger, i have about 6 or 7 of them I’m sure. but that was before I switched to the Ultra Luxury eyeliner. I prefer that over the Gimmersticks but then again it’s for adding a pop of glam to your look. It’s not bad but you need a few strokes before you get as much color as the Ultra Luxury liner.

The third and forth one go together. On one side of the NYC Eyeliner Duet is the black color, shown in the third swatch. It’s more feathery than the other ones and the color is not as solid. It’s definitely lighter than the Ultra Luxury liner. One the other side is a nude/fleshtone color, seen in swatch 4. The color goes on rather well. Both sides of the pencil are creamy and not as all stiff. The nude is good for lining your water line when you want to brighten up your eyes. I say I’d rather use the nude side than the black side.

Swatch five is the Wet N Wild ColorIcon. I’ve been looking to use white eyeliner on my lash line in some of my bolder color looks but it’s not as easy as it sounds. Makeup companies don’t really make white eyeliners, at least none that I’ve seen. Most white liquid liners are actually clear with glitter, with a white tube for packaging. Anyway This one is also good for brightening your waterline. I might try using a white gel liner for my lashline. This one isn’t bad but it requires about 2-3 strokes to get a nice stark white.

Last of course is e.l.f. This is a thick crayon that is good for being a black base for darker looks, or it can even be used as a cream eyeshadow. I use this mostly on my waterline because it’s waterproof. my eyes water a lot and it’s difficult to keep my eyeliner in place. This holds up fairly well as my eyes water throughout the day. You can use it on your lashline and smudge it out for a messy/edgy look. I don’t usually use it that way but you can! As i mentioned before you can use it as an eyeshadow base color and add to it, kind of like NYX’s jumbo eye pencils but a little cheaper.

Overall i try and get pencils that are creamy and glide onto the skin. This helps lower the amount of times a sharp point is tugging on the delicate eyelid skin. Harder eyeliners can sometimes do that and they color doesn’t really go on that well. SO stick to creamy, soft pencils to complete your fabulous eye look!

20150124_195015

Leave a Reply

