Lush FAIL/Redo/Review

So for christmas I decided to spend some of my money on a mini Lush haul. After hearing all the ranting and raves about how great it is and seeing pretty pictures on the internet i decided that I just had to try it. For my first bath I decided to use ‘Space Girl’ a grapefruity blend that’s supposed to be an explosion of intergalatic glitter and sparkle.

image

Normally when i prepare a bath i get the tub filling and dump in a plethora of things in; milk baths, bubble bath, bath salts, epsom salt, oil you name it. I figured I’d approach the bath bomb the same way. I’ve never used a bath bomb before ever so i assumed i would just toss it in.

WRONG.

NO ONE TOLD ME THAT YOU SHOULDNT HAVE THE WATER RUNNING WHILE YOU PUT IN YOUR BATH BOMB. So my pretty space girl bath turned into this:

image

A sad pathetic lavender grey with minimal fizzies and no explosion. Apparently the running water
causes the bath bomb to dissolve too quickly and it results in sadness. I wasted $7…

The next day however I was determined to get the gorgeous lush bath i deserved! So i tried my Phoenix Rising bomb.

image

This time I filled the bathtub completely then stopped the water completely. Phoenix Rising is an apple cinnamon glitter bomb and apple cinnamon is one of my FAVORITE scents. I was determined and excited. I popped it in, definitely got a longer fizzing/dissolving time and a great waft of aroma. And i got a bright magenta/purple color. It was nice. There was a bit of fizzing and foam action as well.

IMG_20150212_235520

When I got in however i realized I was sitting in a tub of purple water…that was starting to become clear. Was I still doing something wrong? Is there some magic spell I’m supposed to do before I step in?? Why is everyone so enthralled by these dumb things?? The pretty colors probably.

In the end the bathbombs dont do anything for my bath experience. I like a big relaxing shabang in my bath and this is just pretty scented water. On the other hand theres a nice blast of sparkles, the aroma is strong and does linger on the skin for a bit and it is quite moisturizing. Perhaps these benefits are well worth the sparkly colored water.

But…i can also make these at home so…

I actually might not purchase the bath bombs specifically. I’m still leaving an open mind to the other products they have such as soaps, creams, scrubs and those toothy tabs. I personally still have toothy tabs and a soap left and I’m more than ready to try them. But i think im going to give a shot making my own bath bombs.

What do you beauties think? Am i doing something wrong to not get this magic working? I know a lot of you love this so let me know please! I want to have an awesome bath experience as well. Have you tried space girl and phoenix rising and got different results?
Share your stories!

signature

One thought on “Lush FAIL/Redo/Review

Leave a Reply

