MOTD: Anti-Valentine’s Day Makeup

I’ve noticed that a lot of beauty bloggers/vlogger are doing pretty, soft, pink centered, feminine, innocent, blah, blah blah, looks for Valentine’s Day. Why? V-Day can be all about love and being sweet and all that crap but why not rock it out, celebrate yourself and do an anti-valentine’s day look! As I’m recently single, I’m not looking forward to V-Day. Instead I’m just treating myself and being the badass that I am on my own. So I created this look!

20150208_180227 20150208_180247 20150208_180240

It’s a nice mix of reds, black, and a tiny dash of pink for transition color. As always I try and edit the photos lighting to reflect the way the colors show in real life and unfortunately my mother’s house where I created this look has HORRID lighting. So things might look a bit off.

List of Products Used:

Face:

e.l.f Studio Mineral Infused Face Primer in Brightening Lavender* ($6)

e.l.f. Studio Eyebrow Lifter and Filler ($3)

e.l.f Under Eye Concealer And Highlighter ($3)

e.l.f Studio Contouring Blush and Bronzer Duo in St. Lucia($3)

Maybeline Fit Me Foundation (Matte+Poreless) in 2365 Pure Beige (aka too light for me, $6)

Covergirl Clean Sensitive Pressed Powder Foundation ($7)

Real Techniques Makeup Sponge* ($6)

Eyes:

Urban Decay Eye Primer Potion Travel Size ($12)

Nyx Jumbo Eye Pencil in Milk ($4.50)

Nyx Primal Colors in Hot Red ($5)

Physician’s Formula 2-in-1 Eye Booster Eyeliner ($11)

Smashbox Full Exposure Mascara Travel Size ($9)

Avon Ultra Luxury Eyeliner (On sale $1.89)

Merle Norman Color Max Shadow in Pink Blink (not sure of the retail value because this was a gift. Merle Norman seems to be available in specific stores.)

Too Faced Boudouir Eyes Palette Knockoff, French Tickler & In The Buff

Lips:

NYC Ultra Moist Lipwear Lipstick in Mahogany (.99)

*new products I’ve tried, will review later

First I did my normal eyebrow routine. I use the eyebrow pencil to shape and fill my brows, use the concealer side under the arch and a little bit above the arch. Then set it with clear mascara or brow gel.

Then I used the e.l.f Face primer all over my face. Then I added a small amount of the UD eye primer on each lid, all over the mobile lid and a little bit into the crease. Once that has a chance to settle into the skin apply the NYX jumbo pencil all over the mobile lid as all.20150208_172613

I added a bit of tape on the outer corner of my lids to help guide me later on and have a clean cat eye edge. And yes the eyeshadow pencil is a little haphazard on the lid but I clean it up later. Next with a smudge brush or c-shaped eyeshadow brush I used Nyx Primal Colors in Hot Red. Now Primal Color is a like of face and body powder that NYX developed. I think technically it isn’t supposed to be used for the eyes but I did put it on top of an eyeshadow base. It didn’t irritate my eyes or skin or anything like that but use at your own risk.

20150208_173024

I apply the Hot Red color to about 3/4 of the mobile lid. Using a fluffy blending brush I used the Merle Norman Blink Pink on the crease. Use a light hot pink color for this, nothing baby pink. This is an edgy makeup look so we don’t want any soft colors. The pink shouldn’t be as bright as the red either. Use a windshield wiper motion to apply all across the crease and blend it a bit.

20150208_173119

As you can see it’s a light application since I was focusing primarily on the bright red color. Next I used a pencil brush to apply French Tickler from my knockoff Too Faced palette in the outer corner of the lid (where the rest of the white is) and taking it up the side of the tape to make a sharp cat eye shape. I blended a little bit of French Tickler into the crease. I touched up the Hot Red color and the Pink whenever I needed/lost some color due to blending. At this point I removed the tape.and then used my clean smudge brush to add a bit of In The Buff to the browbone. Add any highlight color you want. In The Buff is a light creme/ivory color.

20150208_173914

Once the basic eye was done I added a medium size liner with the Physician’s Formula eyeliner. I didn’t make it too think and I didn’t make it a cat eye. I just lined the lashline a bit. Then I was time for the first coat of Smashbox Full Exposure mascara. While That was drying I added the Avon Ultra Luxury eyeliner to the waterline. Then I put a bit of the Hot Red color under the waterline and faded it towards the black cat eye shape I created.

20150208_174309

I added a second coat of mascara, added some more eyeliner to the waterline and added a mini wing near the tear duct.

For the face I used the primer all over, then used Maybelline’s Fit Me foundation which i found out is a shade lighter than I needed(more details will be in the review). I applied that with my Real Techniques sponge which was damp. I used the e.l.f concealer under my eyes, a bit on my forehead, down the bridge of my nose, my Cupid’s Bow, and my chin. I blended this as well with the sponge. I set the foundation with the Covergirl pressed powder foundation which actually evened out the tone of the Fit Me foundation and corrected it, so it matched my skintone now. I contoured as usual using the e.l.f blush and bronzer duo. I used a bit of the blush side of the duo as well. I like a natural blush so I didn’t apply it too heavily. But yep, that’s it! Enjoy my badass Anti-Valentine’s Day makeup!

001

I wore this on 2/8/15 as I was going to see WWE Live but I thought I’d make an awesome Anti-Valentine’s Day look as well. It lasted through a night of sweating an shouting as well…so it might be good for other Valentine’s Day activities (ohhhhh~!) And I actually forgot to bring my contacts with me and had to wear my glasses with this look. It didn’t look so bad!

4 thoughts on “MOTD: Anti-Valentine’s Day Makeup

Leave a Reply

