MOTD: Smokey/Hazy Eyes

So I wanted to have a nice face for work today, I was going to meet with someone to help with their photojournalism project so I needed to look a little decent since I was going to be in photos, haha! I actually tried my best at doing a smoky/blended out/hazy eye look. I wanted some definition with a dark color but for the sake of it not looking too much like a club/party look I blended it out to make it softer. I didn’t use a lot of products on my face, just a bit of concealer and some powder is all. I didn’t even contour!

Eyes:

Flower That’s Kohl Kajal Eyeliner in Total Blackout ($8)

bH Cosmetics That’s Heart Palette (1st color on the 2nd row as well as the last color) (on sale for $6.50)

NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in Black Bean ($4.50)

Smashbox Full Exposure Travel Size Mascara ($9)

Urban Decay’s Eye Primer Potion Travel Size ($12)

That’s about it. It’s a very simple look.

First I started off with a bit of primer potion. Then I started to by line my lashline with the kohl eyeliner. i’ve never used a kohl eyeliner before so I was plesently surprised to find it so creamy and blendable. I wanted to do a dramatic/graphic cut crease with the bold eyeliner but since it turned out so creamy I decided to blend it and smudge it with the smudge tip on the opposite side of the pencil. Once I had this light base color I thought I’d go in an add Black bean over it. I smudged it out with a fluffy brush in a circular motion.

20150213_140438

Kohl eye pencil

20150213_140740

With Black bean on top it was a little darker.

On top of that I buffed in the last color on the second row of shadows in the That’s Heart Palette

20150213_140733

I buffed this in, also using circular motions and diffusing any harsh lines I created. Then I got a clean c-shaped brush and added a bit of the gold shimmery color (1st shadow of the second row) in the inner corner and middle of the mobile lid. I just packed the color on a bit and didn’t blend the goldish color since I wanted it to pop and add highlight. Lastly I added a bit of the actual highlighter powder under my browbone. I finished the eyes off with two coats of Smashbox’s Full Exposure Mascara.

For the concealer I used the The Lighten Up! Brightening Concealer from Flower. I blended this with my damp Real Techniques Blending Sponge. Then I added Covergirl’s Sensitive pressed foundation powder all over my face with a fluffy powder brush.

For the Lips I used Maybelline’s Color Sensational Lipstick in Truffle Tease and Covergirl’s Lip Perfection Lip pencil in Seduce.

20150213_143909

The natural sunlight really made the gold shimmer color pop really well. Since the eyes were a little dark I thought I’d try the nude lipstick. I’ve been meaning to try nudes for a little bit and I think maybe using a dark lip liner underneath the Truffle Tease might have made the color pop out a little bit more because It almost looked like I had pale lips. The color was just a smidge lighter than my natural lip color.

Hope you guys liked this look!

signature

Leave a Reply

