DIY Lip Balm Rings

Hello Lovelies!

I took a trip to my local craft store recently and picked up a few things. Since my friend’s birthday is coming up, and she likes rings I wanted to make her something special. I found these rings at Micheal’s (in the bead aisle) on sale for $2.50. They had a really cute filigree like style and they were also small lockets.

Untitled-2

Here’s what they look like.

So I decided to fill these little locket rings with some DIY lip balm

What you’ll need (keep in mind that since these lockets are small I didn’t need much ingredients)

20150207_213943

  • coconut oil (about 2 parts)
  • beeswax, I used all natural beeswax from some honey farmer’s (1 part)
  • Vitamin E Oil, I actually didn’t have oil but I had a small Vitamin E Stick that I got from Sally’s and use a bit of that (a few drops)
  • A glass measuring cup
  • a spoon
  • a container for your lip balm
  • (Optional) essential oil or flavoring to make it smell/taste good (i used Rose)

So to begin you’ll have to grate your beeswax. I didn’t have a grater to I just took a knife to it and chopped off some small pieces. I should have used just a bit more that I put it but it’s ok. Practice makes perfect. Put the beeswax in the measuring cup.

20150207_214231

Then take some coconut oil and dump it right on in there. I used about a 1/2 tablespoon for this. Again I should’ve used more beeswax, this will give a more waxy texture rather than oily. I liked the bit of oiliness since it added extra moisture to by lips but maybe if you were pouring this into a chapstick mold you’d want it to be a bit more sturdy.

20150207_214259

Now here’s the vitamin E stick I got from Sally’s Beauty Supply.

20150207_214336I cut off the tip of this (literally that little bit you see is what I put in). Then you melt the oil, wax, and vitamin E in the microwave for about 45 seconds to 1 minute. Stir it a little to get rid of all unmelted chunks, they will melt in the hot liquid as you stir. When you oils and stuff is nice and liquid add a few drops of your essential oil or flavoring. You can also add color by using natural fruit juice from berries. Stir the essential oil/flavor/color in.

20150207_214650

Now just pour it into your container. You can use an eyedropper for this if you work quick enough and it doesn’t set up inside the tube.

20150207_214717

Mine however set up int he tube while I was trying to take the photo so I just had to pour it in very slowly using the measuring cup. Also I set up a little drying station so the rings would stay upright as the liquid cooled. I took a super small tupperware, added some tape strips across the center and set the rings in so they would stay in place. I let them cool on the counter for a few minutes before transferring them to my fridge to cool for a couple of hours.

Now they don’t have any color so it doesn’t show up on the lips but here’s what they look like all done:

20150209_150318

And there you have it. Super simple, cute and useful! Enjoy!

signature

8 thoughts on “DIY Lip Balm Rings

Leave a Reply

