MOTD: 90s Grundge Baby Pt Deux

I actually had an event that I had to go to that required dressy casual clothing. I don’t really have a lot of fancy dress clothes. I really dont. I’ve got 1 button up shirt, like 2 ties, 1 pair of black trousers which are MIA and all my dresses have funky prints on them. But I did have a little black sun dress that I got from Hot Topic for $4 so I decided to wear that. I was torn between doing natural makeup or doing something dark and heavy (well heavy-ish). I decided on the latter and created a better 90s grunge look I think. My first one can be found here. (and yes, the pictures are missing because stupid me deleted them from my library thinking it wouldn’t effect the posts so yeah. I’ve also deleted them elsewhere so there not really a way of getting them back:/ I won’t be doing that from now on of course. The most I have on my phone are selfies I took of the makeup and not anything in detail. I’m so smart -____-) So yeah, unfortunately all my later posts have no pictures in them.

Anyway I decided to do another 90s grunge inspired look for the event. It was a full face makeup so it’s a bit more “complicated” than my other looks. In reality it just has more steps haha.

Product List:

Urban Decay EyeShadow Primer Potion

Nyx Jumbo Eye Pencil in Black Bean

Nyx Eyeshadow in Own The Night

Nyx Love In Paris Palette (the darkest brown shade)

Pixi Ultimate Beauty Book 2nd Edition (reddish brown shade and a deep brown shade)

Flower That’s So Kohl Eyeliner Pencil in Total Blackout

E.l.f. 3-In-1 Lengthening mascara

Nyx Eyebrow Gel in Black

Face:

E.l.f Mineral Infused Face Primer in Brightening Lavender

bH Cosmetics Liquid Foundation in Golden Beige

Flowers Lighten Up! Brightening Concealer Pen in BC2

City Color Contour Palette

Too Faced Milk Chocolate Soleil Bronzer

Lips:

Covergirl Lip Perfection Lip Pencil in Seduce

Maybelline Color Sensational lipstick in Truffle Tease

Too Faced Lipstick in Naked Dolly

Started with the UD primer and i basically used a combination of various shades of brown, from a milk chocolate all the up to a brown-black. I first added some of the Black Bean pencil all over my lid and smudge it around to give the browns a dark base to work on. I used the lightest brown on the mobile lid and used a bit of the reddish brown for the crease. I darkened up the crease with a darker brown as well as a brown black. I used a flat eyeshadow brush to pack on the color on the mobile lid and a fluffy blending brush for just about everything else. I blended a lot to give that smoky/messy effect. I added the kohl pencil on my upper lash line and smudge it with the smudging tool that comes on the opposite end of the pencil. I also used what was left over on the smudge brush on my bottom lash line. I didn’t want a harsh eyeliner look on the bottom lash, though you can do that. I added, I think, about 2 coats of the e.l.f mascara.

For the face I started with the e.l.f primer. Before I put on the foundation I actually used the City Color contour palette first. I added the contour color to my regular contour areas and then applied my foundation on as usual. It work a little better with cream contour or cream concealer but I wanted to try out the City Color palette so the contour affect came out really softer, which is great for a grunge look.

20150430_212815

Once I was done with the foundation I added a bit more of of bronzer from Too Faced. This gave the contour just a bit more definition. Make sure to blend it all out. I also used some of the highlight powder from the City Color Palette to highlight the high points of my face.

For the lips I added the lip pencil all over then did a coat of the Mabelinne lipstick followed by the Too Faced lipstick and essentially mixed them together. The result was a very soft nude lip which is great for the dark look I did with the eyes.

Leave a Reply

