MOTD: Rainbow Pride

heres to an awesome #prideseason and to being who i am around people that accept me

A post shared by Spooky (@spookyboogie13) on

Last Weekend I went to the Pride Parade in Columbus, Ohio. It was a rainy parade and I got soaked to the bone. The festival even got canceled afterward so we couldn’t really celebrate. However I did get to go to Dragapolooza, which was a big drag concert with performances of about 30 or so drag queens at the local gay club, Axis. It was really fun but totally would have been better without the rain but whatever. For Pride I wanted to do a rainbow look. It’s not exactly an everyday wear but it calls for celebration. Especially now that Marriage is llegal for everyone across the United States!!!

Since I had to travel to columbus I didn’t want to take my entire supply of makeup for just 2 days so I took my travel bag of makeup, 1 extra eyeshadow palette, and a few extra items that could fit in said makeup bag. Here’s what I used:

Too Faced Shadow insurance

NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in Milk

Etude House Lash Serum

Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara

Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer

Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream in Monte Carlo

E.l.f Tinted Moisturizer

Elf Eyebrow Lifter and Filler

Sleek’s I Divine Eyeshadow Palette in Ultra Mattes V1-Bright Up your life

I prepped my face with the Smashbox face primer and then used my Elf tinted moisturizer all over my face. I used the Too Faced Shadow Insurance on my lids before applying the Nyx Jumbo Eye Pencil in Milk all over it. I did a rather messy application since the white just acts as a base to make the bright colors stand out more. I blended it with my finger and then used a fluffy c-shaped brush to apply the colors.

So an easy way to remember the order of the colors of the rainbow is ROYGBIV. Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Blue, Indigo, Violet. I started with the deep pink (seen in the 1st row by the baby blue) and used that in the inner corner of my eye. I separated my mobile lid into 3 sections to do the ROY part of the rainbow. So after the red i used the orange and yellow on the lid (orange is the 3 color from the lighter green, 2nd row and the yellow is the last color on the first row.)

For the crease I used a combination of both the light green (1st one, 2nd row) and the darker green. After that I used the baby blue and slightly darker blue on a pointed eyeliner brush and created a small wing with the colors. For the lower lash line I applied some of the Milk eye pencil as both an eyeliner and I smuged it a little so that way it would help the purple color stick as well as be really bright. I used the pointed eyeliner brush to apply this as well.

After that I used the Etude House Lash Serum which can be used as a mascara primer of sorts or on it’s own. I applied just one coat of the Better than Sex Mascara as well. Then I decided that in the spirit of Marina Diamandis that I would make a little heart under my eye. I made the basic shape with the milk pencil and then added the purple color on top. To finish it off I just used the Soft Matte Lip cream to create a bright red lip!

And you’re done! Happy Pride everyone!

#columbuspride #pride2015

A post shared by Spooky (@spookyboogie13) on

Leave a Reply

