MOTD: BioDrag Queen

A faux queen or bio queen is a female performance artist who adopts the style typical of male drag queens. A faux queen may be jocularly described as “a drag queen trapped in a woman’s body“.[1] Other descriptions include “biologically-challenged” drag queen, “female female impersonator”,[2] or “female impersonator impersonator”[3] Like traditional drag queens and drag kings, faux queens play with traditional gender roles and gender norms to educate and entertain. Faux queens can appear alongside drag kings atlesbian drag shows and are interchangeable with “regular” (biologically male) drag queens as emcees, performers, hostesses, and spokesmodels.

My favorite thing in the who world is messing with gender roles adn creating extravagant personas of myself. Enter Bio Drag, something that isn’t new at all, but brings a whole new meaning of fun to the words Drag Queen. At my internship we were doing a group discussion about the Herstory of Drag Queens and I decided to dress up as my alternative persona Khalessi Crowe. My makeup was pretty simple as I didn’t bring my whole repertoire of  makeup and I didn’t want to do a lot for fear of not many people coming. It’s the summer semester and my campus is for the most part dead. Also my pictures came out horrid and gave me this awful orange glow, so much so that I looked like a ganguro girl/oompa loompa.

A post shared by Spooky (@spookyboogie13) on

First of all I just realized how prominent my cheek bones look and I want to thank the contouring gods for that!!

Face:

BH Cosmetics Foundation in Golden Beige

Concealer palette

20150303_211943

Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Bronzer in Milk Chocolate (I think)

White eyeshadow (used in place because I didn’t bring my highlighter powder)

Flower Beauty Eye Brightening Roll On Concealer

Evelyn Iona Cosemtics Concealer

ELF basked Blush

Purple Glue Stick

Tools: Real Techniques Beauty Sponge, Kabuki Brush

I blocked out my eyebrows with the purple gluestick. Now I’m still not good at this at all and it always turns out messed up. But there are a bunch of ways to do it, the gluestick method is just the most common. You can search on youtube for a variety of videos about it, people on there do it much better than I do. After the hairs of your eyebrows are glued down I just added concealer on top of it all and tried to blend it into my skin as much as possible so it looked like I didn’t have any eyebrows. Foundation and Concealer routines were all the same, the contour just a bit my extreme then how I would normally do it. I wanted to make sure that my face was beat for the gods. I also concealed under my eyes as usual. I have a post on my contour technique that uses the same basic principles, just some different products that I used for this.

Eyes:

Nyx Jumbo Eye Pencil in Milk

Sleek I Divine in Ultra Matte V1

2 pairs of False lashes

Tools: Fluffy C brush, pointed eyeliner brush

I used the Baby Pink color, the medium pink (next to the powder blue) and the deeper pink (by the bright yellow). I used the Milk pencil as a base and I used a combination of the three pinks for the eyeshadow. I took the eyeshadow all the way up to my covered eyebrows and just really exaggerated the look. I kept the baby pink towards the inner corner of my eyes and  used the medium and deep pink for the crease and outer corner. I kept going back and forth trying to blend them all. If I could do this again I would definitely change the eye look itself entirely. The colors kind of melded together and there wasn’t that much definition so I didn’t like it. For the bottom lash line I used the deeper blue to create an “under wing”. The outfit I was wearing was a pink and blue pastel bodycon dress with pills printed all over it and some high waisted light wash denim shorts so I went with a pink/blue theme.

The Lips:

Nyx Macaroon Lipsticks in Coconut and Earl Grey as well as UD’s 24/7 Glide on Lip Pencil

And there we go! My first ever Bio Drag appearance. My drag still needs some work and I really have to get used to freaking wear falsies. I HATE falsies so much. They just make my eyes feel weird even after I trim them. The good thing is that I finally learned to put them on right and I didn’t have any wonky eyes! I wished my pictures would’ve come out better and brighter. I tried to get the best instagram filter I could haha. The yellow lighting in the office did not work for me at all. I hope to do another dramatic drag look soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

