Natural Beauty with Glossier!

Hi everyone! Time for another brand new post. It’s been awhile since I’ve felt motivated to write something and actually do something makeup related. Not only that but school has started and my sleep schedule is all kinds of messed up. Luckily I got some motivation a few days ago when I was able to work with Glossier. Not only do these make me feel special but it’s always a new idea that I can stem off of and really get my creative juices flowing.

We’ve teamed up to show you guys my favorite beauty and skin products that make my natural beauty shine through. Like most young girls and women, I’ve struggled with looking in the mirror and thinking that my natural face is beautiful. When I put on makeup, it doesn’t stem from insecurity. It actually gives me a confidence boost and makes me feel like I’m on top of the world. But accepting yours bare self is also important which is why when I dove into Glossier’s website I fell in love. Not only do I have my eyes on that Milk Jelly Cleanser, I also loved the motives behind the company: celebrating beauty and catering to products that are fun, easy to use, and great for your skin. On top of that, the model in the pictures for the Milk Jelly Cleanser is actually not wearing makeup (except in a before and after)! Like, how many times have you see companies use models with a full face a of makeup on while advertising makeup remover?? Check out their entire stock of beauty products here.

left-b630cf4304e6aa0b1966c9ee220522a1
Taken from Glossier.com, used with permission

Though I don’t have any Glossier products (yet!), I thought I’d share what products I use to help keep my skin fresh and clean as well as some beauty products that help give me a natural look!

DSCN0780.jpg

1: CHAPSTICK!

Not a HOUR goes by when I don’t wear chapstick. When I was a child, I would constantly lick my lips until it hurt. I never wanted to be reminded of that horrible pain so I became a chapstick fiend. I just love how it keeps my lips soft, moisturized, and pain free without adding color. I end up hoarding and losing them endlessly, but there always has to be 1-3 of them in my bag. Otherwise I will go crazy and have to stop somewhere to get one. I can’t live without my chapstick. And trust me, every time I see one of those “If you were stuck on an island and only had to bring one thing” posts, my answer is always chapstick.

2. A light facial cleanser

DSCN0782.jpg
Bare Faced with Glasses

I don’t have one cleanser that I stick to. I use a variety of them and it’s one of my favorite skin products to use. Anytime I see a new one I want to try it. My favorites are the soft cleansers that are clear or have a similar texture to a non greasy lotion. Some of my favorite include Neutrogena’s Healthy Skin Booster Facial Cleanser ($8) and White Rain Facial Cleanser and Makeup Remover (found at my local Dollar Tree for $1) I also like to use Yes to Tomatoes Activated Charcoal Bar soap for when I want a deeper clean and more of a scrub.

3. A moisturizer

My facial skin can get extremely dry. Like my face washes, I like to use something that is also very light and soft. Prior to the cancellation of my ipsy subscription I was able to try the No 7 Beautiful Skin Night Cream that is super hydrating. But because this isn’t a luxury I can afford I’ve also chosen the Yes to Cucumbers Soothing Calming Night Cream for sensitive skin. Both are very gentle on the skin, only need a small amount for all over the face and aren’t greasy. It sinks right into the skin.

4. A good lotion

Now for this particular product, it’s actually not a lotion. It’s a relief spray. I recommend the Yes to Coconuts Eczema Relief Spray ($10). This is because I was having severe trouble with dry skin which I will detail in a later blog post, but its a light spray, that is suuuper hydrating and it really calms the skin. I would almost be tearing at my flesh because it was so itchy but one application of this was extremely helpful! Keeping my skin from drying out to much and making my psoriasis/eczema flare up is important to me feeling beautiful and keeping my skin healthy.

5. A face mist

DSCN0783
Messy Hair, Bare Face

Face mists have been gaining popularity since more and more people want MAC’s Fix+ without spending the MAC Fix+ money. And I’m not different. My first Facial Mist was actually E.L.F’s Makeup setting spray and since then I have moved onto Pixi’s Makeup Fixing Mist ($15, around $8 less than MAC). I like to put this one before and after makeup and it’s infused with Rose Water and Green Tea. It adds an extra boost of moisture and helps my skin feel refreshed before I add any makeup onto it. You can even use it for everyday wear and without makeup! Misting sprays are super versatile, which I think is why they’re so appealing.

6. Foundation Powder

BB Creams, Tinted Moisturizer, and foundation will never feel as light as powder foundation, to me anyway. I use foundation powder (pressed) for an easy fix to my uneven skintone and whenever I’m heading out and want something quick and easy to do. My favorite one (though I don’t buy this brand that much) is Covergirl’s Clean Oil Control Pressed Powder ($6). Even though it’s a powder it’s not dusty at all and doesn’t make your skin look too dry. I buff it on with a face brush or kabuki and head on out the door. It’s quick and simple, which is great for making me get out the house faster!

DSCN0781.jpg
My Color is Warm Beige

7. Last but not least, eyebrows!

It is a rare sight when I leave the house without filling in my eyebrows. I have 2 different ways of filling in my brows, one of course, is a more glamorous way and the other is one I use for everyday wear. Having people compliment me on how good my eyebrows look is my favorite thing. In my head I’m hearing “Yasss gurl! You’re looking so good!” and that brings the biggest smile to my face. My everyday eyebrow tool is NYX’s Eyebrow Pencil in Black. It’s a thin pencil so it’s easy to control and has an eyebrow brush at the end to help comb and tame them easily. Though the color is pigmented you can create a look that isn’t as drawn on or too dramatic (i do love a good dramatic brow though!)

These are my top favorite things that keep my skin feeling it’s best and me looking like I’m a natural beauty from the heavens, haha. Feel free to check out some of the links I’ve provided in case you want to get the same products I use. I highly recommend them! Also while you’re at it, please check out Glossier.com and their gorgeous products and follow them on their social media links on Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest, and Instagram.

Please follow my personal blog for all things nerdy and weird and this blog’s Instagram @Muoatb! See you next time!

 

4 thoughts on “Natural Beauty with Glossier!

Leave a Reply

