MOTD: Black and Gold

It’s been awhile since I’ve done this look. I can’t even remember what I was doing that day…oh right! I went out on a date and I had been wanting to do a black and gold look for a long time, so I just decided to do it and warn my date that it might be a little over the top. Haha! It was also the first time I tried to do a cutcrease. I think it worked out all right but the colors I used didn’t preform well enough. Most of the shadows were from the Jeffree Star Beauty Killer palette (review here). This look was done before the scandal appeared. I am still boycotting the brand but I’m also not going to be throwing out makeup I spent good money on so I might use his products in the future as well (like I did yesterday).

Here is a list of products used:

Jeffree Star Beauty Killer Palette

Bh Cosmetics Foundation in Golden Beige

ABH Contour Cream Palette in Medium

Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Bronzer in Medium Deep (from the mini best seller kits at Ulta)

Smashbox Full Exposure Mascara (travel size is cheaper, around $9)

Benefit’s Watt’s Up Highlighting Stick (mini from a Sephora freebie)

Jouer Cream Highlighter in Tiare (Ipsy)

Evelyn Iona Concealer (Ipsy)

Smashbox PhotoFinish Hydrating Under Eye Primer (mini)

Loreal Magic Lumi Concealer

Too Faced Shadow Insurance

Strobe Cosmetics Eyeshadow in Fit for a Queen (Gold)

ABH Dipbrow Pomade in Granite

Morphe Lashes (I think, I can’t remember!)

Jeffree Star Liquid Lipstick in Weirdo

I will say that the Jeffree Star eyeshadows that I used make the look kind of muddy after awhile and ever since i used the gold shadow in the palette, I’ve had my eyeshadows crease and fall off in the same spot every single time. I used different primer, different shadows, and with or without setting spray but it’s always the same result. I even try keeping my eyes from being too watery but seriously, ever since I’ve used this palette my makeup looks have had this problem. I don’t know why but I think it was because the gold and glitter flakes in that particular JS eyeshadow messed up my eye. Before I did this look my eye makeup was fine. If I could redo this look I would try and use only Strobe cosmetics Fit for a Queen as I think it saved the look. I also need a good black eyeshadow. I realized I only have like 2 from my Pixi palette and I would appreciate some recommendations!!

I’d like to redo this look and use more proper shadows and work on my cut creases more. I’ve just started doing them so I’m not too great at it, but everyone’s got to start somewhere right?! 🙂

Until Next time guys!

 

 

2 thoughts on “MOTD: Black and Gold

Leave a comment