August Ipsy Bag

Finally I can say I love almost everything in this month’s bag! This month’s theme was Sugar Highness, which is right up my alley. While I don’t think Michelle Phan is the greatest artist in the world, she made two designs for the bags this month and I think they’re absolutely adorable. I got the pastel lavender one that has a makeup crown (which I think I want to try to make irl!)

20160815_225322

I absolutely love the design for this one and I think I will keep this one. It’s much more roomy than some of the previous bags I’ve gotten.

Now onto what I actually received!

DSCN0918

Symphony Beauty Makeup Cleansing Wipes- Moisturise Cucumber & Aloe Vera

Formula X Nail Polish in DollFace

NYX Born to Glow Liquid Illuminator

Trust Fund Beauty Lipgasm Liquid Lipstick in K, Bye

Dr. G Brightening Peel Gel

I was happy with most of what I received. The only thing I didn’t like was the nail polish and that was only because the color is too pale pink for me. I swatched a little on my nail and the coating is great, I’d recommend two coats but the color wasn’t working for me. I’m selling this on ebay in hopes that it goes to a good home, or someone who really wanted it in their Ipsy bag. Click here!

I liked the makeup wipes. They do have some texture to it but they’re still very soft. The smell is calming and i’ve used a wipe or two to get rid of some swatches I had tested. It didn’t really irritate my skin or anything. I like the travel size also because I always need a travel size pack of makeup remover wipes. It’s gentle on the skin and takes off most of the makeup in a few wipes. The liquid lipstick swatch I did required just a smidge of rubbing but it came off quite easily. On Amazon a pack of 60 wipes is only 9.99, which i think is a fairly good bargin especially since most makeup wipes come in a pack of 25 and retail about 5-6 dollars. I know Neutrogenas wipes are about this much. I would go the extra few bucks and get even more. While I love Equates (Walmart off brand) makeup remover wipes I think these are stronger and might get off more makeup in less swipes.

DSCN0919

The Nyx Illiminator is a liquid highlighter that is very shimmery but not very pigmented. It gives shine rather than color. The tube is similar to a lip gloss tube and you squeeze the product out. Coming out of the tube it looks very pigmented but once you apply it onto the skin and blend it out it becomes very sheer. I do not mind this at all. It really like how sheer it is since I’m not too crazy about highlighting. I mean I like highlighting but I dont like going overboard with it. I love NYX in general and I was super excited to get one of their products in my bag. This was the only brand other than Formula X which I had seen on Sephora’s website that I’ve heard of and used before.

 

The Dr G Brightening Peeling Gel is a Korean beauty product. ON the tube itself it says ‘instantly brighten and clarify skin by eliminating dead skin cells with this gentle and powerfully effective Vitamin-infused peeling gel.” It says to apply using circular motions and rinse after wards. Nothing about dry time or anything so I assume it more like a cleanser? It comes out like a cream and as you start rubbing it into the skin it begins to clump up perhaps as a gentle exfoliant to get rid of the dead skin cells? I’m kind of weary on this product as I’m not a big fan of Korean facial beauty products but I would like to try it.

The liquid lipstick was something I was really excited for. This was a full size product and the color swatched marvelously. However as I’m starting to learn, swatches can lie. Not the product is great itself; it goes on smooth, has a nice scent to it, nice pigmentation but again like the Formula X when I tried it on it just wasn’t the right color for me. Now I don’t think this dries matte, the website says “Almost matte”. So I assume theres a bit of drying but it also has shine, which I noticed. I would definitely try this brands lipstick in a different color especially because it’s vegan and cruelty free. Not all my makeup is but I feel a little better when I use a product that is cruelty free. I’m also selling this one in hopes that it goes to a better home. Retail price is $22. Click here!

I’d give this bag about a 3.5/5. I liked 3 of the products and the formulas of the nail polish and lipsticks. If they were in colors I’d enjoy and looked good on me then I would’ve definitely given this bag a 5/5! What did you guys get in your Ipsy bags this month? Make sure to like and comment, I’d love to hear what you think!

2 thoughts on “August Ipsy Bag

Leave a Reply

