MOTD: Green Kween

I’ve been dying to do a green centered look for awhile now. I’ve been seeing a lot of graphic liners and different kind of looks that aren’t just basic makeup looks so I wanted to try something a little avant garde. I’ve been having some problems with my makeup creativity and doubting my skills as an MUA, so I thought this look would spark some sort of passion again.

#greenkween

A post shared by Chelsea Gonzalez (@moatb) on

List of Products Used:

ABH Dipbrow Pomade in Ebony

Elf Eyeshadow Primer

Loreal Magic Lumi Face Primer

Mac Eyeshadow in Lucky Green

KvD Serpentina Palette in Scarab

Nyx Jumbo Eye Pencil in Rocky Mountain Green

Sephora Olive Green Eyeshadow

BH Cosmetics Foundation in Golden Beige

ABH Contour Cream palette in Medium

Pixel Party Proof Eyeliner in Unforgettable Emerald

Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara

Jcat Beauty Wonder Lip Pain is Pishslaver

OCC Liptar in tarred

Physician’s Formula 2-in-1 Eye Booster Eyeliner

It was hard to capture the different shades of green I used thanks to the crappy lighting in my house. I’m working on getting a clip on ring light for taking selfies and hopefully that might help. I had been seeing some graphic liners used under the brow on Instagram and I wanted to try that but I dont think I executed it well enough. I probably would’ve just used the green liner only. I used a geometric template (like the ones you used to get in elementary school) to pat various green eyeshadows in the shape of small triangles. I tried to use a white eyeliner to outline the shapes but it wasn’t showing up at well with my foundation on. So i ended up just using the template. It was a bit hard to see where I wanted the triangles to go since the template itself is big. So I would’ve planned out where I wanted the triangles to go a little better.

The lips were my favorite. I tried to do a dual color lip, using the green on the bottom and black lip paint on top but the green wasn’t coming out nice enough. Of course since the lip tars stay moistly wet so they started to mix a little and it turned into a weird color, with the black dominating over the green. So I decided to go back in with the green shadows I used over top and it basically turned something bad into something amazing. I loved the look of the shadows on top of the lip tar and I liked how the powders kind of set the liptars so they weren’t moving around as much.

I also wanted to do a green contour but that didn’t turn out as nicely as I would’ve wanted. Overall I really like the shadows I used and how the lips turned out but I need to work on my eyebrows and adding “theatrics” to my looks. I want to try things that are more artistic and out of the ordinary.

Have you guys hit any makeup stumps? Or creativity blocks in general? They’re the absolute worst! Tell me how you overcome them and offer any advice you have!:)

Leave a Reply

