Black Friday Haul Part 1: BH Cosmetics

When you’re looking to buy good makeup on a budget, Black Friday is the best day to do it! I personally had no idea what I wanted to get for Black Friday and instead took to my makeup Instagram page (@moatb) to look at all the makeup companies and pages I follow to see who had the best sales. I tried to stick with companies that were  doing 40-50% or more from their products. I was looking to definitely get more bang for my buck and I know that a lot of companies and small businesses only do like 10-20% off, which is not a deal. 10% is nothing. This is Black Friday, step your game up.

But anyway, I went to one of my fave companies to see what they had. I think they had decent pricing. I believe it was at least 40-75% off on certain items. I managed to snag an eyeshadow palette, a highlighter palette, a brush set, and my staple foundation.

20161130_1535041

The breakdown, cost wise, was like this:

Wild & Radiant (Highlighter palette)- $6.00

Foundation- $3.50

Wild & Alluring (Eyeshadow palette)- $7.00

Brush Set- $12

S&H- $7.95

I believe you got free S&H once you hit $50 and I had other places I wanted to buy some so I opted to pay the almost $8 instead of spending about $20 dollars to get free shipping.

I ordered everything on Thursday and BH was the 1st to get to my house on Monday or Tuesday I believe.

I won’t review the foundation because I use it all the time and I’ve featured it in several looks that I’ve done before. Brushes are also kind of hard to review before you use them too so  I’ll just be talking about the design and packaging mostly.

But first is the eyeshadow palette. I picked the Wild & Alluring palette because of course, it was on sale. Not only was it on sale but it looked very similar to the Galaxy Chic palette which is literally my absolute favorite palette (and it’s always on sale but currently it’s out of stock on the website because it was $8 on Black Friday/Cyber Monday!). The eyeshadows in the Wild & Alluring palette are also baked and are mixed colors, so each shadow has multiple colors and shades in it to give lots of dimension in your looks. Because I used the Galaxy Chic palette so much, I figured this one was no different and would hold up really well.20161130_153207[1].jpg

These colors are really gorgeous though there are a few that look very similar to the Galaxy chic palette (2nd row middle and 3rd row last by the highlighter). I really love the top row of yellow-purple shades. The palette also has a highlighter which is a nice bronze and a coral blush. Currently, I’m using a gold eyeshadow color from my Too Faced Pb&J palette, which works splendid but now I have some real powder highlighters to try!

The packaging is really cute too. It’s a simple cardboard package, mirror included, with mermaid scales all around the palette. For $7 I don’t think this is a bad deal, especially with how decently sized the eyeshadows are and how big the highlighter and blush is. I’m not a blush person myself but I could see myself wearing this shade. It’s a medium sized palette as well so depending on your bag it would do well with travel.

Now the Highlighter palette is something I’m also really excited to try. It’s maybe 1/2-3/4 of the size of the eyeshadow palette and I believe part of the same line. It comes with 4 highlighters in varying shades. The shades look a bit similar in the palette but when swatched on skin you can tell the difference easily. There is a bronze, copper, light gold, and I would say a peach gold, which I think all work great on my skin tone. They are super sparkly and nice and smooth! I cannot wait to try them out in a look. I’m so excited for these highlighters!

Swatching them and capturing them in the best lighting was a bit difficult and I’m sorry if they don’t come across as well. I promise that the pigmentation produced on skin swatches (I haven’t done brush swatches yet) were really amazing. I knew that I was going to be glowing with these highlighters! And only $6 for 4 highlighters?? You can’t beat that.

I tried to take pictures in LED lighting and without(which is a bit darker than expected. You guys might have to enlarge it) but shimmery products are kind of hard to capture perfectly. They’re super nice highlighters in my opinion. If any of these are left I would say go get this palette! The Cyber Monday sale is still continuing now.

Last was the brush set. They had cheaper sets than this one. I believe the cheapest was about $7 but only gave you a few brushes. I figured if I was going to get a brand new brush set (because I collect brushes like crazy) I would want a much fuller set. I’m not really a fan of pink but I did really like this metallic pink set. It has 14 brushes total and comes in its own roll up carrying case.

20161130_153425[1].jpg

When I first pulled the set out of the box, it was, of course, rolled up. There are two snap closures and is about the size of a longer clutch purse. It’s pretty light and easy to carry as well. It did have a kind of weird candy-plastic smell to it when I unrolled it but it’s only strong if you actually sniff it, like it did haha!.

The brushes are a normal length. The handles are black with shimmery glitter on them which I didn’t notice before! That makes it cuter! The smaller more precise brushes are of course a bit firmer and I’ve noticed the fibers are straighter. The face brushes and some of the fluffier shadow brushes kind of have a wavy texture to the fibers. I don’t think I’ve noticed that in my other BH brushes before. The fibers are still synthetic and soft though and I love my other angled face brush from BH. I’m pretty confident that I’ll like this set, though.

20161130_153444[1].jpg

I’m really excited to use my new products from BH! I do love this brand a lot and I always recommend them to others. Join their sale now and see what else you can snag! I have a few more orders coming in so I’ll be doing little haul posts for them as well. See you guys soon.

Leave a Reply

