Fresh Soy Cleanser and Rose Face Mask Review

Hello, Lovelies!  I recently placed an order with Sephora for Black Friday as well as to redeem my free birthday gift! Don’t worry the post on what I got from Sephora will be coming up soon! This year I had a choice between a Marc Jacobs Lipstick and Mascara mini set and a Fresh Soy Face Cleanser and Rose Face Mask set. I was going to get the Marc Jacobs Set but my friend kept telling me to get the Fresh set. I also was buying a lot of makeup and I soon realized that I was running out of my staple facial cleansers. So I decided to go with the Fresh set.

20161202_2332181

I have used the Soy Cleanser to wash my face after taking off my makeup. It’s a really soft gentle cleanser. It’s kind of refreshing and not irritating at all. It’s a simple cleanser and I think it helps get the residue off after a work shift wearing makeup. I don’t mind the clear type cleansers but I’m not so sure if I’m sold on this cleanser just yet.

As for the Rose mask, it wasn’t a thick mud or clay type mask like I normally use. This mask is similar to a thin jelly. It gives off a brownish color but goes on rather clear. The smell was soft-it smelled like roses of course but I also felt that it smelled a little bit like banana! There are real pieces of rose petal in there as well and the rose scent does overpower the mysterious banana smell but not in a bad way at all.

20161202_2331301

I used about 1/4-1/2 of the jar to cover my entire face. It is only a .5 mL jar so it’s pretty tiny but I think I can get another use or two out of it. The recommended time for the mask is about 5-10 minutes but I left it on probably closer to 15 or 20. I did feel it start to get warm in certain places and I have no idea if it was because my skin was irritated or not. I had just used hair remover around my brows and upper lip about 15 minutes or so before I put the mask on, so I’m really unsure if the mask was reacting to the skin since the hair was freshly removed or if it really does get warm on its own. The warmth was mostly around my upper lip area but surprisingly not around my brows, hence my confusion.

Other than the warmth, which never turned into a burning or irritating sensation, the mask was nice. It’s gentle enough that it can be used daily but I don’t think it offers the power that I like with my masks. I think it’s more so a mask to treat yourself with as if you’re having a spa day or maybe you did something and felt your skin needed the extra cleaning after using the soy cleanser. I’ll most definitely use the mask again but i can’t help that I love my thick clay masks! This one just doesn’t cut it for me, and while nice and luxurious feeling I wouldn’t personly go out of my way to buy it.

It’s not a bad mask at all but not exactly my cup of tea either. I would recommend it to people who have more sensitive or dry skin who can’t really use the heavier clay masks, though. Though my skin is sensitive and dry, it isn’t that extreme. My skin doesn’t react badly to products usually and this will be better for people who’s skin gets irritated easily.

Also, can anyone tell me if the free birthday gifts change month to month or do they have the same gifts for the entire year? Did anyone else get the Fresh set? Let me know!

2 thoughts on “Fresh Soy Cleanser and Rose Face Mask Review

Leave a Reply

