Black Friday Makeup Haul (Pt. 3)/Review: ColourPop

Yes my lovelies, the Black Friday Hauls are still not over! There are 2 more posts to go but between playing Pokemon Moon, sewing my cosplays, and getting a new doll I’ve been slacking! What else is new, am i right? Haha!

So after months and months of ogling Colourpop and loving their lower end prices I finally ordered some stuff from them! Black Friday bought a 30% off sale and their usual free shipping on orders over $30. I had been shopping for like an hour at this point and realized all I got was a lot of eyeshadows and I needed some new nude lipsticks that I could wear to work. Each Liquid lip was $4.80 so I ordered 5; 3 Mattes and 2 metallics. I also ordered their ever popular highlighter, Churro, which I think was not on sale but only $6-7.

20161206_1551471

The Colors I got were Beeper, LAX, Love Bug, Man Eater, and DM.

20161206_1546551
Left to Right: DM, Man Eater, Love Bug, LAX, Beeper, Churro(Highlighter)

Now I did do some tests where I basically wore a metallic and a matte during a work shift. I usually work 6 hours each so all my experiences are based on that time frame. The first metallic I wore was Man Eater. I put like 1 or 2 coats on and let it dry a bit. Throughout the day I noticed that it became flaky and patchy. I had parts rub off and had flakes falling, even after I reapplied. I wasn’t really happy with how it was reacting. This is my first metallic lippy so I’m not sure if they’re all like that and I’ve generally heard good things about Colourpop so I was disappointed in that. The color was beautiful and very shimmery though. They do go on smoothly but I think over time it just starts to crumble especially because of the moisture between the lips. I think It breaks down over time.

20161206_1550411
Man Eater

The Matte lipsticks were a little better. There were still some flakes but not as drastic as the metallic. The Mattes held a solid color and mostly came off when I went on break to eat and when I drank water. I applied about maybe 2 times (mostly after I ate and to get some more moisture in my lips). The colors are nice and opaque and really great. It’s just really the flaking and rubbing that kills the whole mood. I would recommend them because they’re not as expensive as other liquid lips and do have really nice opaque full coverage but the  flaking and rubbing off is another factor to consider.

I haven’t tried the highlighter but when I swatched it, it felt buttery smooth. Very soft and easy to blend. I know each highlighter is pressed differently so this can’t really be helped but I really do wish that I would’ve got more marbling on mine. I also wish it smelled like a churro haha! It’s a gorgeous color, similar to the ones I got at BH Cosmetics-pale/peachy gold with a bit of copper to it. I may give it a shot tomorrow when I put my work makeup on!

20161206_1551231

I may order from Colourpop again, probably more so for the highlighter but I did see another matt lip color I wanted so I may get that too. Have you guys tried Colourpop? What did you think of it? Do you have the same flaking problems I do? Let me know!

5 thoughts on “Black Friday Makeup Haul (Pt. 3)/Review: ColourPop

Leave a Reply

